That Ole Chestnut

20140616_190354Curiosity got the better of me when shopping the other day and I found myself buying fresh Chestnuts…now what? After a quick check to see how to roast them I was off. I decided to use the roasted nuts to make a sauce. I blitzed the peeled warm chestnuts and passed them through a fine sieve leaving a moist meal/paste. I added that to some cream and white wine and reduced with some garlic, salt and pepper and a few minutes before it was ready I added a few leaves of chopped Sage. It was really good, quite earthy and the sage took the edge off the cream. I served it over a juicy little pork fillet and a few veg.20140616_190402

Leave a Reply

