I’m Calling it ‘Tropical Prawn Cocktail’

I was flicking around on-line somewhere the other day and had a quick look at a photo of a twist on the old favourite and somewhat daggy Prawn Cocktail. Instead of the traditional lettuce it had avocado as a base. I don’t remember what else it had in it but I went with what I thought sounded good. I used sliced avocado, thinly sliced pineapple and fine slices of birds eye chilli salt and pepper and lemon juice (after eating it I would put fine slivers of fresh ginger in as well). I cooked off 1/2 kg of banana prawns in salted water, peeled, deveined and sliced thinly. Make or buy a seafood sauce (Home made is simple and nicer), drizzle the bottom of a large bowl with some dressing add sliced prawns season with S&P, stir thru with as much sauce as you want (less is more). Stack prawns on top of avo salsa and drizzle with a little more dressing.

Leave a Reply

